Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2 hours of cardio daily.. too much?

I am planning to do two hours of cardio daily.. between trademill, elliptical, and stair machine..

I really need to speed up my weightloss.. Is this a lot to do? I am doing one hour of it.. but now want to stick on 2 non stop hours surely doing 2 types of machines to avoid getting bored..

Has anyone done it and worked successfully??

I really need to lose weight ASAP!

2. Google
    I think it depends on how much you eat, personally. (Though I'm not an expert by any means...)

I did two hours of intense cardio today and I usually do about an hour a day. I'm kicking it up to two hours starting this week, but I'm in training for the military, and I make sure to get PLENTY of calories to compensate (probably between 1500-2000).

If you don't get enough calories and work out really hard, it could drive your body into a starvation mode. So just be sure to match your caloric intake with your activity level.

But I have reached the point of I dont mind to starve! I have reached a weight that I have never before and I am in a rush to lose this weight

I will have to try to do it for a while and see how it goes.

Thanks maverick for your advice!

its not to much.. just going to be hard to maintain in a lifelong aspect..

do what u can for the rest of ur life

But I have reached the point of I dont mind to starve!
    You won't lose weight that way, though. That's what I'm saying. If your body goes into starvation mode, it will hold fast to every calorie it can possibly get, so not only will you not lose weight, but the minute you drop your guard and have a treat, it will come back threefold on you.

So say you do lots of cardio, starve yourself, and lose some weight. When you eat regularly again, you'll not only gain back what you lost, you'll gain even MORE weight. So if you started at, for ex. 220 lbs, you'll end up 250 lbs. from the crash diet.