Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Medicine Wheel Health -Physical, Mental, Spiritual, and Emotional

Hi there,
    I'm new to being serious about being healthy. I am a nursing student and I want to be a good example for my future and current patients by living the best life I can. I want to be as balanced as I can so that I am healthy overall, not just worrying about my weight and looks.

I want to keep a record of my activities, thoughts, moods, and foods every day so that I can track where I need to improve.

My bigger goals are to get up to an hour of physical activity every day, 5-10 vegetables and fruits every day, and to complete a sprint distance triathlon by next summer. In the process, I am hoping to lose 25 pounds, from 150 - 125, which is what I used to be when I was at my healthiest.

In the meantime, I will start with smaller things.

3 veggies and one fruit daily.
    1/2 hour of time spent outdoors every day.
    5 minutes of meditation every day.
    4-6 small meals through the day, eating until I am 80% full only.

Last edited by Kaiser; June 27th, 2009 at 03:47 PM.

2. Google

Day1

It's been an interesting first day.
    I saw that lots of people on here keep track of calories with FitDay, so I went on there and recorded what I was eating. I knew that a lot of things I ate weren't healthy, but seeing the numbers come up really hits hard.

Today, I had granola, saskatoons and milk for breakfast. And because I saw how much it was worth before I ate it, I only ate half and put the rest in the frig for later.
    That's more than 400 calories right there. Yikes.

Then I had broccoli and cauliflower with veggie dip, and two slices of rye toast with an egg.

Then a carrot and dip and the rest of my granola.

Then a pear for a snack.

All told, about 1400 calories, and I didn't even wash it down with a beer or two like I normally do. Jeez, a beer has 150 calories!