1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mowens's Diary

Discussion in 'Weight Loss Diary' started by Mowens1984, Jul 27, 2016.

1. Mowens1984

Mowens1984 Active Member

Never done anything like this before, but I could use some encouragement.

First, the basics: I'm male, 31 years old, 5'10'' started out at 275lbs as of June 23rd, 2016.

I decided on June 23rd of this year to get myself in shape. I've been working a desk job since 2007 where I sit for 10 hours a day, then I would go home and sit for another 8 hours and get maybe 5-6 hours of sleep a night. I did this for the last 10 years.

I have 2 daughters, a 3 year old named Evelyn (Evie) and an 8 month old named Eleanor (Ellie) and when my 3 year old asked me to get in the floor and play with her, it was such a huge effort just to lay down to play with her, I nearly burst into tears. I promised myself I would get into better shape for their sake. My mom also passed away last October partly from complications arising from being obese and she was overweight most of her life. I want to get into shape in part to show that I appreciate the life that was given to me and that I won't waste it.

I downloaded the "MyFitnessPal" app and it's companion "Record" which allows me to track workouts. I've gone from drinking about 5 soft drinks on average a day (Citrus Drop and Diet Coke mostly) down to drinking only water and the occasional flavored water (Sparkling Ice drinks they sell at Kroger) which are 0 calories.

My app tells me if I want to lose about 1 1/2 pounds a week, I need to eat around 1900 calories a day. I've stuck to this very easily by simply cutting down on my portion sizes without really altering my diet much at all.